The Acorn to Release No Ghost

Ottawa-based five-piece, The Acorn, is pleased to announce the release of their third full-length album, No Ghost, due September 7 (CD/LP) on Bella Union and available digitally June 1. The album includes bonus materials and artwork not found on the digital release. Equally indebted to folk and experimental pop, No Ghost follows 2007’s ambitious and widely-praised concept album Glory Hope Mountain.

After headline runs and bouts touring with bands such as Bowerbirds, Calexico, Phosphorescent and Akron/Family, the Acorn retreated from two years on the road to an isolated cottage in northern Quebec to begin work on No Ghost. Songs took shape at all hours, crafted from hazy late-night improvisations, early morning melodies pulled from the thinning threads of sleep. Modernity clashed with the bucolic via exploratory percussion, feedback, acoustic textures and the natural surrounding sounds.

The band then traded trees for telephone poles to finish recording in a sweltering heatwave at Montreal’s Treatment Room Studios (Plants & Animals, Angela Desveaux). There, the breezy ease of rural surrounds was buried under sweat-caked skin and cracked asphalt, birdsong drowned out by thick air and engine hum. No Ghost is a recording swaddled in dichotomy: togetherness and isolation, acoustic and electric, destruction and restoration.

The Acorn is currently touring Europe before returning in June for dates in the US and Canada in support of No Ghost.


The Acorn – “Restoration” (mp3)

The Acorn’s No Ghost is out 6/1 via Paper Bag in Canada, and 6/1 digitally (8/10 physically) via Bella Union.