John From New York; a refreshing summer track from Pan

In early 2012, Pan headed to Archer Avenue Studio in Columbia, SC to record their first full-length album, These Are the Things I Love and I Want to Share Them With You.  With the help of studio engineer Kenny McWilliams, Pan was able to fully realize their vision- an album that was both expansive in scope yet more direct in appeal than their previous efforts.  These Are The Things…also saw Pan experimenting with more diverse instrumentation, incorporating ambient synth lines, keyboards, and even vocals- most prominently displayed on their standout track “John From New York.”

“John From New York” is such a fun track, it truly does exemplify the sounds and fun feel of summertime. This isn’t a surprise though since the band even decided on their name out of their fun loving happy personalities. The name “Pan” was inspired by the notion that “happy thoughts make you fly” and the group’s fondness for the film Hook.

The band is sometimes compared to Explosions in the Sky, but I don’t think I’d label them as such. I do like EITS but they have a far more heavy reliance on their instrumental endeavors. I feel like Pan has a better balance in their songwriting and thus sounds less haunting. But to me it’s okay that Pan is less melancholy, more than okay; preferable. I think their music in this LP is still amazingly creative and spirited. I’m very much looking forward to hearing more.

Pan wrapped up recording in under a week- a major feat, given the depth of the resulting material.  After a mastering session with Dave Harris at Studio B in Charlotte, NC, the record will be released through Post-Echo alongside a companion remix album, with several tour dates to follow.  As for the future?  If their music is any indication, Pan is sure to find new and exciting ways to welcome whatever comes next.  Post-rock is very much alive, and Pan has two fingers firmly on the pulse.

Download & Listen:

Pan – “John From New York [mp3]

See Pan Live:
July 14 – Columbia, SC – Conundrum Music Hall
July 25 – Chapel Hill, NC – The Cave
July 27 – Charlotte, NC – Snug Harbor

Artist: Pan
Album: These Are the Things I Love and I Want to Share Them With You
Label: Post-Echo
Release date: August 28, 2012

Track Listing:
01. Byoko
02. The Rhode Island Lucky Few
03. God
04. Joe Frazier
05. Slow/Steady
06. John from New York
07. The Things They Can’t Take Away
08. Mom and Me Versus You and Dad
09. Rudy (Wurlitzer)
10. Helen and Francis
11. Leave Your Body
12. Arkansas

Enhanced by Zemanta