Tag Archives: indie authors

Indie Author Holiday Gift Guide Paperwhite Package Giveaway Event

The Best in Indie Book Gifts


Horns of the Devil by Marc Rainer

The second book in the Jeff Trask crime/legal thriller series, a series hailed for its realism by those in the law enforcement career field, Horns of the Devil is the story of the havoc wreaked upon the nation’s capital city by a drug gang turf war. As one career prosecutor wrote, “As a long-time prosecutor, I continue to be astounded by Rainer’s perfect pitch for police/prosecutor dialogue. Outstanding Read! Rainer is way ahead of his contemporaries in this genre.

Price: $2.99 (Kindle) $9.45 (Paperback) via Amazon

For: Thriller Fans

Palmetto Review Take: Nonstop legal and procedural crime novel that’s rich with detail and suspense.

Scrink.com Take: Since I’ve been reading a lot of cheesy romantic Christmas books I think this would be a perfect one to get into for some extra excitement.

More:


Fan: Marc Rainer


Too Quiet In Brooklyn: A Fina Fitzgibbons Mystery by Susan Russo Anderson

Twenty-two-year-old Fina Fitzgibbons stumbles upon a throttled woman in the heart of Brooklyn Heights and discovers that the dead woman’s four-year-old grandson is also missing. She begins a wild hunt for the strangler-kidnapper, Ralph. During the chase, she resists falling in love with her boyfriend, Denny, an NYPD patrol officer, steps on the toes of Detective First Grade Jane Templeton, and uncovers secrets about her own past. In the end, Ralph has a deadly surprise for Fina.

Price: $.99 (Pre-order) $3.99 (After 12/20/2013) via Smashwords

For: New Adult

Palmetto Review Take: Crime, passion, and New York City – count us in!

Scrink.com Take: Hey this is the best of both worlds. Passion AND crime. Count me in!

More:
Follow @susanrussoander

Fan Susan

Visit her via her Website and on Amazon


Tug of War by Ross Collier

An action packed, tension filled espionage thriller set in Melbourne, Australia during WW2, based on actual events between the US forces and the Australians.

Price: $2.99 (Kindle) $16.95 (Paperback) via Amazon, B&N, and iTunes

For: Fans of Thrillers and Espionage

Palmetto Review Take: A fresh plot line to enjoy as you follow the political intrigue down under in this historical look at the relations between two seemingly cozy nations as friction emerges.

Scrink.com Take: Political intrigue and friction, no, never, haha, of course this is one I have to read just so I can then create witty banter between my husband and I.

More:
Follow @CollierRoss

Visit Collier’s Website


Night Chill by Jeff Gunhus

For fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz — Enjoy a creepy supernatural thriller with over 100 Five Star Amazon Reviews.

Price: $2.99 (Kindle) $12.78 (Paperback) via Amazon and Audible (12/20/2013)

For: Adult Supernatural Thriller and Horror Fans

Palmetto Review Take: One of the most highly rated books we’ve reviewed, read at your own risk of being frightened half to death.

Scrink.com Take: The photo on the cover reminds me of the little girl from the terrifing Ring movie. There was a time when I loved scary books and movies but I’ve gotten to become quite a sissy as I have aged, I’m not sure about this one although I’m excited it is rated so well.

More:

Fan Jack Templar Monster Hunter

Visit his website Website

The Jack Templar Monster Hunter Series – Books 1-3 by Jeff Gunhus

A new series for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.

Price: $.99 (Kindle) $9.79 (Paperback) via Amazon, B&N, and Audible (12/20/2013)

For: Middle Grade and YA

Palmetto Review Take: Ignite your imagination with this trio of supernatural books focused on monsters, mystery, and mythical adventure.

Scrink.com Take: This series sounds interesting, especially since I am a huge Harry Potter and Percy Jackson fan. Maybe these are ones I can read along with my oldest son.

More:

Fan Jack Templar Monster Hunter

Visit his website Website


Vengeance Out of the Shadows by David Peretz

In the third thriller to feature Ross Cortese, NYPD, the detective contends with both a killer targeting landlords and a Russian assassin out for retribution. Kirkus Review described it as “a seamless blending of stories and first-rate characterizations.”

Price: $4.99 (Kindle) $11.25 (Paperback) via Amazon and B&N

For: Suspense, Romance, and Thriller Fans

Palmetto Review Take: Indie Must-Read Book of Summer Winner as voted on by everyday readers.

Scrink.com Take: Sounds like I need to find the first two in this series before I jump into this third book because if they blend together then I do not want to miss anything.

More:
Visit NYPD Crime Novels

and Fan on Facebook


Lunch with Lucille by Annarose Ingarra-Milch

Readers can expect to be inspired and entertained as “Lunch with Lucille” whips up a delightful dish of hope and optimism, served by a fun-loving, sassy, female character who shares a message all women need to hear – you are your best asset, at any age. Voted overwhelming the Buzzworthy Book of Summer, “LwL” overflows with nourishing wisdom and humor as you are treated to simple, practical solutions to some prickly issues such as aging, confidence, self image, and achievement. This fast-paced novella is thought provoking and leaves you hungry for the next course.

Price: $4.99 (Kindle) $13.13 (Paperback) via Amazon and B&N

For: Women

Palmetto Review Take: A perfect gift for any woman in need of Inspiration.

Scrink.com Take: So I just love the cook cover, I know I shouldn’t judge it that way but I’m a visual gal! Plus everyone needs a little hope and optimism every now and then so this sounds like just the thing.

More:
Visit Facebook

Author Website

iTunes Podcast

WFMZ TV

Berks County Living Story

BCTV


Tall, Dark, and Handsome and Other Devotionals by Christopher Hall

A collection of Christian devotionals based on one man’s life experiences. “This book makes you think! It is funny, uplifting and a down to earth view of Christianity. We all have those bad days at work that make you wonder if it is it all worth it. Chris Hall takes a bad day and redirects it to a lesson in Christ… I highly recommend this book to all my friends.” Karen Brooks-Rochelle

Price: $5.99 (Kindle) $11.57 (Paperback) via Amazon

For: Anyone interested in uplifting stories related to Christian Living

Palmetto Review Take: Deepen your walk in faith, or take your first step to finding it with this inspirational book rooted in the real world, and written for you to discover the next.

Scrink.com Take: So I just love the cook cover, I know I shouldn’t judge it that way but I’m a visual gal! Plus everyone needs a little hope and optimism every now and then so this sounds like just the thing.

More:
Fan the author on Facebook


At The Gates of Walhalla By Justen Forge

Suspense, intrigue, and action. A page turner that makes you feel like you’re in the scenes. This novel sets itself apart with its vivid writing and top notch storytelling. Perfectly priced so you can give this to all the readers on your Christmas shopping list.

Price: $2.99 (Kindle) via Amazon, Sony, iTunes, B&N, and $21.99 (Paperback) McNally Robinson

For: Thriller & Mystery Fans

Palmetto Review Take: After a horrific series of events a hero emerges to set wrongs right in spellbinding detail.

Scrink.com Take: Whereas before I said I loved a cover and thus would read the book, I really do not like the cover of this book because the typography is terrible. However, I am a fan of mysteries and therefore I am open to give it a try.

More:
Visit the Author’s Website


Liberty’s Torch (Dystopia Trilogy Book 3) by Janet McNulty

Expect excitement action, and to learn the meaning of true sacrifice. All it takes is one spark to ignite Liberty’s Torch.

Price: $2.99 (Kindle) via Amazon

For: YA, Teens, Dystopian Genre Fans, Those Who Like Strong Female Characters

Palmetto Review Take: Like Hunger Games and Divergent, this dystopian drama is both entertaining and plausible.

Scrink.com Take: Dystopian books are not my favorite but I do love reading books with strong female characters, I think this is definitely one to check out.

More:

Fan on Facebook

Follow @JMRUL

Visit the author’s Website

Ready For A Giveaway?

One Very Lucky Reader Will Win a Kindle Paperwhite prize package complete with:
  • Kindle Paperwhite
  • $50 Amazon Gift Card
  • One copy of each book included in the holiday gift guide
To enter, just complete the options included below on the GiveawayTools form. Be sure to come back each day for additional entries, such as daily tweets! This giveaway is open to US Readers, 18+ years of age, begins Monday, December 16th and will end on Tuesday, December 31st at 11:59pm. Good Luck!




Disclosure: Prizes will be provided by Children Teaching Mama and Reader Spoils.